OpenVZ Forum

Home » General » Discussions » The lack of OpenVZ tools,does not make it bad software (Software Tools)
The lack of OpenVZ tools,does not make it bad software [message #39350] Thu, 08 April 2010 05:22 Go to next message
max.havoc is currently offline  max.havoc
As a "new" member to the OpenVZ forum,the one subject that sticks out,is the lack of software tools.(i.e Web interfaces to terminal scripts)
This subject personally,never became came an issue,in not trying out OpenVZ.
I am an old school UNIX admin,and creating tools was just part of the game.
Now,users expect others to create the "holy grail" tools for OpenVZ administration,without an effort on their part,and complain.
Although,we all have our own software development experience levels,simple BASH shell scripting,can go a long way in solving your tool "crisis".
Give credit to those who put forth the effort,in making OpenVZ
administration a little easier.
Suggestions are always welcome to a potential developer.
Negativity.....keep it to yourself.
Re: The lack of OpenVZ tools,does not make it bad software [message #39438 is a reply to message #39350] Fri, 23 April 2010 20:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
devonblzx is currently offline  devonblzx
I think vzctl comes with plenty of great functions to control virtual servers along with many other neat tools added to the wiki such as vzmigrate, vzdump, etc. What is missing? Everything else can be done inside the VPS and is based on linux tools.

http://static.openvz.org/userbars/openvz-user-2.png
ByteOnSite President
Re: The lack of OpenVZ tools,does not make it bad software [message #39569 is a reply to message #39438] Wed, 12 May 2010 17:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
max.havoc is currently offline  max.havoc
If you read the threads in the forum,you will see every kind of
web based tool coming down the road.
When I started using OpenVZ,it was command-line driven.
It still is.
But that did not stop me from making my own tools.