OpenVZ Forum

Home » General » Support » any update for OpenVZ 9?
any update for OpenVZ 9? [message #53798] Tue, 15 November 2022 03:37 Go to next message
hkendusers is currently offline  hkendusers
Hi everyone,

I have been using OpenVZ 6 & 7 for many years, which are really great container based virtualization.

OpenVZ 8 & 9 has been released for 1-2 yrs already, OpenVZ 8 seems already dead because only 1 version was released, then after an year OpenVZ 9 was released. According to the update server (https://download.openvz.org/virtuozzo/updates/), looks like OpenVZ 9 is stopping the update since 24 Feb 2022 while OpenVZ 7 still keep updating.

Earlier this year I had tested OpenVZ 9, there were many problems & errors (e.g. https://forum.openvz.org/index.php?t=msg&th=13670), so I haven't used it in production environment yet. It's been almost 1 year with no further updates, I'm afraid it will end the same way as OpenVZ 8.

Is anyone using OpenVZ 9 here? Is OpenVZ 9 already dead or still developing? Is it suitable for production usage?
Re: any update for OpenVZ 9? [message #53799 is a reply to message #53798] Wed, 16 November 2022 14:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dmc_dtc is currently offline  dmc_dtc
I have the same question, since EOL for CentOS7/virtuozzo 7 is getting closer, i already migrated all guests, but hosts are still OpenVZ 7 - I need to know if there will be OpenVZ8 or 9 or should I look for alternatives like nspawnd or LXC. For what i've read OpenVZ has security edge against both alternatives, but good thing is that OpenVZ containers works flawllesly in nspawnd which has matured over the years. I also tried those alpha OpenVZ8 and 9 .. and had errors starting or restarting containers... so it is quite unusable in prod.