OpenVZ Forum

Home » General » Discussions » OpenVZ vs. VMware
Re: OpenVZ vs. VMware [message #4660 is a reply to message #4658] Fri, 21 July 2006 02:17 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
cdevidal is currently offline  cdevidal
n00b_admin wrote on Thu, 20 July 2006 14:16

I'm new to this virtualization thing, and i want to implement one of the above methods for security purposes and fast recovery in case something fails.

I was looking for an answer from someone who used any of these methods in production as a webhost and can tell me the pro's and con's of each method.

I'll bet this topic has been discussed plenty of times in this forum before (use the search).

I'm new to OpenVZ, just did my first install last week. But I've read about it and I have enough experience with VMware to give an honest answer.

In my opinion VMware is easier to install but OpenVZ performs FAR better so I will likely use it for my web hosting. OpenVZ will always outperform due to its design concept; I read a 2002 article that said they got 2,000 VMs on one machine. With VMware you're lucky to get 6 at once before performance goes to pot. And that's with fast RAID 5...

I have used VMware to do disaster recovery scenarios but never OpenVZ. But when both are set up they should both be easy to quickly restore. I know VMware VMs are just a folder, not sure where OpenVZ stores its files but I'm sure it's a snap to restore. That's one universally quality about any virtual machine -- the "hardware" is the same on every host. You just restore the folder and boot up, no reconfiguration, no reinstallation, no re-configuring settings, no backup/restore hassles. Pure and simple disaster recovery goodness Wink

If you need to run a few Windows servers you might consider buying Virtuozzo for Windows instead of running VMware. Just like Linux, it shares the kernel so you can get around 50 VMs on one server.